Queen Elizabeth Prize trophy competition finalists announced

The shortlisted entries for the next Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering trophy have been unveiled.

Nine aspiring UK engineers and designers aged between 17 and 24 have been chosen as finalists in the ‘Create the Trophy’ competition that will provide the award for next year’s QE Prize, known as the Nobel Prize for engineering.

The winner, who will receive £2,000, will be decided by a panel of six judges, with an additional vote coming from a public poll held on the QE Prize’s Facebook page.

The winning design will then be made into a trophy that the Queen will present next year to the engineers behind a chosen ground-breaking innovation that has been of global benefit to humanity.

Last year’s prize was given to five engineers responsible for the creation of the internet and World Wide Web, including Britain’s Sir Tim Berners Lee.

Chairman of the QEPrize trustees, Lord Browne of Madingley said in a statement: ‘The ultimate purpose of the QEPrize is to inspire and engage young people in engineering. Through the Create the Trophy competition we can ensure that young people are represented in the award of the QEPrize, and we can also highlight the importance of design in engineering.’

The finalists, all of whom are still in education including two at secondary school, are:

  • Euan Fairholm, 20 – Edinburgh
  • Harry Cook, 22 – Clavering
  • Ashley Wharfe, 17 – Hemel Hempstead
  • James Rogers, 19 – Holbeton
  • Gemma Pollock,18 – Wakefield
  • Sarah Parsons, 22 – Rugby
  • Georgia Boulter, 19 – Ashby-de-la-Zouch
  • Joseph Waggott, 17 – Jarrow
  • Franz Gross – Liverpool