The Engineer prepares to celebrate collaboration once again

Entries are now open for the 2017 Collaborate to Innovate awards, celebrating how engineers work together to advance technology and manufacturing

The new TVR sports car, underpinned by the iStream Process invented by Formula One legend Gordon Murray, was among subjects covered at last year’s C2I conference

Following last year’s successful launch of the Collaborate to Innovate Awards, we are pleased to announce that the awards will again be held this year and that we are now accepting entries. Collaboration is at the heart of engineering, and is increasingly vital to solve the problems that we – as a country and as a species – face, and to help grow the UK economy as it faces the challenges and opportunities of a post-European Union environment.

Once again, we are partnering with the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council and in association with machine-tool maker Yamazaki Mazak, the Frazer-Nash Consultancy, BAE Systems and metrology and additive manufacture specialist Renishaw.


This year, we are introducing some new award categories: Academic Innovator, for a university department that demonstrates excellence in innovation and collaboration across multiple projects; and Young Innovator, sponsored by Renishaw, which will spotlight collaboration between businesses and schools. The latter can be a stand-alone project with a clearly defined aim, or a longer term collaborative relationship aimed at attracting students into further engineering studies and/or careers.

Other award categories are Transportation; Information, Data and Connectivity; Health and Well-being; Energy, Efficiency and Sustainability; the Built Environment; and Safety and Security.

Our judging panel this year includes leading figures from academia and industry. Along with The Engineer editor Jon Excell, Danielle George, Professor of Radio Frequency Engineering at the University of Manchester and former Royal Institution Christmas Lecturer; Prof Iain Gray, Director of Aerospace at Cranfield University and former Chief Executive of Innovate UK; Dr Chris Guyott, Engineering Director at the Frazer-Nash Consultancy; John Halton, Director for Business and Industry at Engineering UK; Alan Mucklow, Director for UK and Ireland sales at Yamazaki Mazak; Alan Newby, Director of Aerospace Technology and Future Programs at Rolls-Royce; Jenni Sidey, Lecturer in Internal Combustion Engines at Cambridge University; and Professor Andy Wright, Director of Strategic Technology at BAE Systems Programs and Support will scrutinise the entries, draw up a shortlist and decide winners.


The closing date for entries is 26 May. Winners will be announced at an informal party in the city of London on 5 September, and the winners will present their entries at a one-day conference including keynote presentations in December at the Lloyds Bank Manufacturing Technology Training Centre in Coventry. For more information on the awards, including the criteria for the categories and how to enter, please go to the page linked here.